Why is Music considered a ‘Soft’ subject?

FN

Medicine, Veterinary Science, Dentistry, Law and Music. Which one of these degrees stands out to you as ‘the odd one out?’. I can bet you it was music.

But, why?

As stated by Friedrich Nietzsche ‘Without music, life would be a mistake.’- So why is it that music is considered ‘soft?’.
The main reason I have decided to write this post is after an incident I experienced at my school a few months back. A teacher, (who I shall not name) asked me what I wanted to study at university- naturally, I said Music. I received an odd glare and then later on in the conversation she stated that ‘if I wanted to do a degree that would mean I end up living in ‘poverty’ when I’m older, then I should ‘go ahead’ ‘.

First of all, really? Whatever ANYONE chooses to do with their life is their decision. It seems to me that at the school I attended, and other ‘private/public schools’ if the degree you wanted to study is not Medicine/Dentistry etc. you seem to get disregarded as somebody who is not worth taking an academic interest in- and I am sorry, but that is completely and utterly ridiculous.

But, back to Music…

Root position, Relative major, Con fuoco, Phrygian cadence, Neapolitan chord, Allargando, Tierce de Picardie (my personal favourite), Antiphony, Tonic pedal note, Diminished 7th…. Augmented 5th.

These, my friends, are many common terms that musicians come into contact with on a very frequent basis. If you don’t know what any of these mean- I think it’s a good indication to you that Music is not simply just listening& playing- it’s almost like a different language… a musical language!

Studying Music is not just as simple as ‘sitting around listening to piano music’ as I once heard someone say. Music is about practicing hard, immersing yourself in new music each and every single day, learning how to sight-read, learning music theory which is so complicated that it sometimes makes you want to pull your own hair out, composing pieces of music that actually have to come out of your own brain and much, much more.

All I’m trying to get across is that Music is so far from easy. Music is difficult- but if you have a passion for it- you’re set for life. I’ve had countless people come up to me and tell me to ‘do a proper degree at university and have music as a hobby‘. No. Why should I? Did anyone question you when you did your degree? Probably not, so why are you questioning mine? I think everyone deserves the right to study what they want to and I know that I cannot wait until 3 years time when I graduate as a bachelor of Music.

Finally- the job prospects of doing a music degree.. It certainly is not just a teacher.

-Music therapy -Private music teacher -Sound editor – A musician – Playing in an orchestra (BBC orchestra) -Working for a music company

… the list really is endless.

So to the teacher who told me I am going to ‘live in poverty’, and who then later told me that her niece who also did an ‘arty’ degree now ‘has a husband who can pay the bills whilst she pursues her dream’ can sincerely stop. I will most certainly not live in poverty, and I will most certainly be able to care for myself independently when I reach the age.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but, think before you speak- Music really is not as easy as it seems.

Leave a Reply

